The African Union Commission (AUC) and the Africa Transport Policy Program (SSATP, an international partnership administered by the World Bank) with the support of South Africa’s Road Traffic Management Corporation (RTMC) and the United Nations Economic Commission of Africa (UNECA) hosted the First General Assembly of the African Road Safety Observatory (ARSO) at the Fairmont Zimbali Resort in Durban, South Africa on the 27-28 June 2019.

At the inaugural meeting, over 100 road safety leaders from 39 African countries had the opportunity to discuss and agree on ARSO’s mission and work plan for addressing the growing road safety crisis in Africa. Co-financed by SSATP and the Global Road Safety Facility (GRSF), which is supported by UKAid with financial contributions from DFID and DHSC, the newly established Observatory intends to foster national, international and continental cooperation to generate a robust body of road safety data that can be used to influence policymaking and for monitoring Africa’s progress towards realizing the Decade of Action for Road Safety 2011-2020 goals.

Key conclusions and associated resolutions:

  • AU member states should ratify the African Road Safety Charter.
  • The vital records system faces many challenges, including its decentralized nature, a lack of standardization of terms and procedures, and slow transitions to electronic systems. There are several efforts underway aimed at improving data quality, such as the development of training for road traffic and hospital staff on completing vital records (WHO/SSATP/FIA). It is crucial that lead agencies understand their important role in making this system work efficiently.
  • African governments should accord high priority to the improvement of existing crash data collection and storage systems by adopting the MDS (SSATP/FiA), DRIVER Platform (GRSF), and CRVS system (WHO).
  • The low percentage of accession by African countries to the legal instruments of the United Nations (UN) Conventions relating to road safety reflects in part the lack of rapport between discussions of the UN conventions at the global level and the debates conducted in Africa based on regional needs. The UN's most essential road safety conventions relate well with the AU Road Safety Charter.
  • Road safety in the 21st century requires more than crash data analyses. There is a need to collect performance indicators.
  • African governments should spearhead initiatives related to CoE by AfDB. Project funds will be used for capacity building programs to serve African countries.

Event Agenda & Presentations:

MC: Department of Transport (RTMC): Kevin Kara-Vala and SSATP: Tawia Addo-Ashong

Venue: Durban, South Africa (Hotel Fairmont Zimbali Resort)

1 Day: 27 June, 2019



Participate/Lead Facilitator

08:00 - 09:30 AM

Registration of All Participants

SSATP/RTMC/ARSO Steering Committee

09:30 – 10:30 AM

Welcome speeches: 

Opening Remarks by representatives of SSATP: Tawia Addo-Ashong; UN Special Envoy for Road Safety: Jean Todt; ECA; AfDB; GRSF; ARSO Steering Committee (Chairman); Road Safety Victim: Ms. Zoleka Mandela; WHO; World Bank Group - Practice Manager & AUC;

Official Opening Speech

Ms. Refilwe Mongale (RTMC): Ministry of Transport – South Africa


Objectives and expected outcomes of 1st GA: Adoption of Agenda and Work Programme

Meeting Procedure led by Steering Committee: 

Mr. Benacer Boulaajoul (Morocco)

Group Photo


10:30- 11:00

Tea/Coffee break


Session 1

Setting the Scene

Moderator:  Mr. Georges Anagonou (Benin)

11:00 – 11:20

Implementation Status of the African Road Safety Action Plan and the African Road Safety Charter - the importance of road safety commitments

Africa Union Commission: Mr. Placide A. Badji (AUC)


11:20 – 12:45

United Nations Road Safety Conventions - African Contracting Party Status

UN-Economic Commission for Europe:

Mr. Robert Nowak (ECE)



UN Road Safety Trust Fund - Operationalization and Opportunities 

Secretariat of the UN Road Safety Trust Fund:

Mr. Robert Nowak (UNRSTF)  

13:00 -14:00

Lunch Break


Session 2


African Road Safety 2020+


Moderator:  Mr. Sydney Ibeanusi (Nigeria)

14:00 – 15:30

Panel Discussion: Performance of African countries in Implementing Road Safety Initiatives: Road safety in Africa – current/future trends and the benefit of the Observatory;


SSATP – Noor M./UNECA -Robert L./AfDB – Girma B./AUC- David K. /RECs/NGOs – Kenya /Private Sectors/ Multilateral agencies (GRSF) /MS - FRSC/ WHO - Doris M.

15:30 – 16:00

Tea/Coffee break


Session 3

Observatory: Programme of Work

Moderator: Mr. Sydney Ibeanusi (Nigeria)

16:00 – 16:30

Plenary: Work Plan

Transitional Steering Committee Members


General Discussion: Stakeholders’ perspectives – Countries, institutions and RECs representatives: - Experience in the area of road safety observatory & its’ programme of work (PoW);



Wrap-up & Closing: Summary of agreed actions & Outcomes of day-1

ARSO Secretariat/Moderator/Rapporteurs (Ms. Maria Segui Gomez -FiA)


Gala Dinner

All – RTMC (Gov’t of South Africa)

2 Day: 28 June, 2019



Participants/Lead Facilitator

Session 4


Observatory: Implementation Process


08:30 – 09:15

Plenary:  Case Study: Role of road safety knowledge and data to improve road safety and the Observatory – Benin and South Africa

Moderator:  Mr. Girma BEZABEH (AfDB)

Benin - Ms. Tudji Huguette

South Africa - Ms. Motselisi Juma & Mr. Lucky Mabasa












4. Topics to be covered include:  

  • Road Safety Policy, Target, Investment Strategies and Actions;
  • Intervention Selection and Prioritization;
  • Minimum data-set of Road Safety Indicators (Pieter V.); 
  • Standardized definitions and methodologies of ARSO;
  • Behavioral Data (Ms. Katrien Torfs - VIAS);
  • Vital Registration (Ms. Doris Mafat- WHO)
  • DRIVER Apps (Mr. Soames Job-GRSF/WB);
  • South African National Traffic Information System- Hazardous Roads Methodology (Mr. Deon Roux- RTMC)
  • ARSO Methodology, Approach, Membership (Interim Task Force); and, Integrating Data (Combining Crash Data, Road Data, and intervention selection & prioritisation).
  • General Discussion

All- Head of Lead Agencies/

RECs/Key road safety actors/Data Coordinators/Technical staffs from Police, Health/Traffic Officers. 


Moderator: Mr. Eugène DAKITSE-BENISSAN (ALCO)


Tea/Coffee break


Session 5

Governance of the Observatory   







  • Background and Objective of the Observatory;
  • Formation of the Interim Governing Body;
  • Countries Response;
  • Endorse the Committee Next Steps and Secretariat Progress Report (PoW). 

Moderator: Mr. Kevin Kara-Vala (RTMC-South Africa)


  • Ms. Tawia Addo-Ashong (SSATP- RS Pillar Leader);
  • ARSO Secretariat;
  • AUC.



Lunch Break


Session 6

Next Steps




  • Proposed work plan for the Interim Task Force/ Steering Committee -Implementation Plan until 2021;
  • Creating ad-hoc Working Groups;
  • Develop on Guidelines on Minimum set of data;
  • Country RS Audits (Toolkit);
  • Improving VR data;
  • Communication Plan –Newsletter, etc.;
  • Cooperation with Safer-Africa;
  • Sweden 2020 Ministerial Conference on RS.





Mr. Divine Mbabmome (Cameroon) 

Session 7

Statutory and Administrative Decisions of ARSO’s TSC

Moderator: Mr. Benancer Boulaajoul (Morocco)



Plenary:  Approval of the conclusions and recommendations proposed by 1st GA:

  • Choosing the Venue for the 2020 Assembly;
  • Vote of thanks by M.S Representative;
  • Consideration the Draft GA Report (Communique);
  • Any other items.

ARSO Participating Countries, ARSO Secretariat, Rapporteurs, Host Country and AUC-SSATP-UNECA-AfDB (Focal Pt.)


 Closing Ceremony: 

Moderator: Tawia Addo-Ashong (SSATP)


Closing Speeches: Représentatives from AUC/WB/UN/AfDB/FiA/WHO/ITF/GRSF/UKAid/RTMC

16:30 – onwards

Tea/Coffee break


June 27, 2019 to June 28, 2019
Fairmont Zimbali Resort in Durban, South Africa
Country : 
South Africa