# REC TCC Election of the Chair Role of the Chair

REC TCC Meeting Abuja 2-3 July , 2018



## Election

- Chair drawn from member RECs
- Mandate of two years
- Ideally Director transport/infrastructure
- The REC TCC Chair is ex-officio member of the SSATP Executive Committee
- Consensus among REC representatives

### Election

- Sub regional rotational basis
- Past Chairs:
  - Amos Marawa, COMESA
  - Helene Guissou, UEMOA
  - Hosea Nyangweso, EAC
  - Jean Paul Libebele, ECCAS
- Current chair: Lovemore Bingandadi, SADC
- Next Chair should come from the West and Central African region

## Election

- Background
- Reminder letter to all the Heads of the REC.
- No candidate at the Johannesburg REC TCC (November 20-22)
- Consensus from REC on extension of current chair
- Mandate until the SSATP AGM in Abuja (July 2-6, 2018)
- Election scheduled and included in the program
- Preliminary contact to monitoring situation with West and Central Africa RECs
- Urge for consensus to have a chair elected

### Role of the REC TCC Chair

- Role of the Chair in between REC TCC meetings:
  - Attend EC meetings and AGM
  - SSATP and REC TCC visibility
  - Support to membership drive
  - Advocacy of policies from the work of SSATP

