Eastern and Southern Africa Regional Workshop on Vehicle Load Control

Kampala Uganda August 18, 2014 Regional Integration

Image removed.

The regional workshop was organized by the Northern Corridor Transit and Transport Coordination Authority (NCTTCA) and the Federation of Eastern and Southern Africa Road Transport Associations (FESARTA) with support from SSATP and the Trade Facilitation Facility (TFF). The Kampala regional workshop focused on Self-Regulatory Vehicle Load Control Charter and lessons from TFF Activities in Eastern and Southern Africa. It reviewed the work program around the charter as well as the broader TFF-supported program in East and Southern Africa such as to distill the main achievements and lessons for the future activities in the region.

More specifically the workshop sought to:

  • build a consensus on an action plan for effective implementation of the EAC Act on Overload Control;
  • initiate discussion on developing a Tripartite-wide action plan on overload control;
  • review the main achievements of other TFF activities in East and Southern Africa, and
  • draw lessons for supporting the regional integration agenda in the Tripartite region.

The workshop was held from 18th to 20th August, 2014 at Imperial Royal Hotel in Kampala and was aimed at defining a way forward for effective implementation of axle load control in Eastern and Southern Africa.

The workshop was attended by road authorities, transport corridor authorities, transport association and representatives from the transport sector from Eastern and Southern Africa regions. Countries represented by public or private institutions included: Burundi, DR Congo, Kenya, Malawi, Rwanda, Uganda, South Africa, South Sudan, Tanzania, Zambia, and Zimbabwe. Corridor authorities in attendance included the Transit Transport Coordination Authority of the Northern Corridor (TTCA-NC), the Central Corridor Trade and Transport Facilitation Agency (CCTTFA) and the Dar Corridor. The following regional and international institutions were also in attendance: The East Africa Community (EAC), the African Development Bank (AfDB), the European Union, the World Bank, the Federation of Eastern and Southern Africa Road Transport Associations (FESARTA), and Trademark East Africa.

Worskhop Proceedings